Discussions

Why I DNF A Book

img_8615

Every reader has their reasons on why they DNF a book. I got this idea from The Reading Addict talking about when she DNFs a book. You can read that post here. They go in and talk about when it’s okay to DNF a book. So here’s why I might DNF a book.

What if a book isn’t good?

Some books you can tell if they aren’t going to be good from the beginning. But I think all books deserve a fair shot. Maybe the book isn’t for you at that time. I usually give a book 50-100 pages before continuing on. Some books that readers read are about 100 pages so if this rule might not work. But if you know that a book isn’t going to be good then there is a chance that it isn’t.

What if I fall out of love with it while reading?

This is also a possibility. This recently happened to me. I was reading a book that I was enjoying then a twilight movie marathon came on and I just feel out of love with reading that book. It had nothing to do with the book but I just wasn’t enjoying it as much as I wanted to. And this book I had started over a few times just because I wasn’t feeling it either.

What to do when I DNF a book.

I am a big believer in every book we DNF deserves a second chance. I usually keep books I DNF in the hopes that one day I’ll be in the mood for that book or the genre that the book falls under. Heres what I say if you DNF a book. Keep it. If you DNF it a second and a third time then get rid of it. Just because you’re not enjoying it doesn’t mean that someone else won’t.

You can sell these books at a bookstore that buys back books (like Half Price Books), you can put them in a garage sale, or you can create a Poshmark and sell them on there. There are many ways to sell the books that you DNFed. These ways that I mentioned here if you have books that you don’t like and you don’t know what to do with them.

I can’t tell you when to DNF a book. Only you know when to DNF a book. Only you know what books will work for you and which ones don’t. Are there duds that we pick up thinking that we will like them and we don’t? Yes. But that’s just because that book isn’t for you. Like if you told me that you didn’t like When We Believed In Mermaids and only got 25% done that would be okay. Because I know that book isn’t for everyone. But that’s not going to change my mind of liking this book and continuing to talk about this book. Just like if I said, I didn’t like your favorite book and DNFed it at 15% then I would want you to be the same way because that’s your favorite book. I want yall to read what you want without feeling like you have too. If you feel like your reading a said book because everyone else is reading it then you’re not going to have fun reading. If you’re one of those people who doesn’t like to DNF books for whatever reason, then, in my opinion, you’re going to miss out on some great books.

So, why do yall DNF books? I would love to know what you guys think in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Why I DNF A Book

  1. My main reason for DNFing books is because I’m not in the mood for that genre or because the book isn’t what I was expecting. Nine times out of ten, I hold on to them for a while, with the hopes of giving them another shot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If youre not in the mood for that book now. It doesn’t mean that you wont be in the mood for it later. Glad that you want to give books you DNFed another shot even if it might never happen for whatever reason

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment