Book Reviews · Recently Read

Halls Of Fire Review

Style: Ebook

Page Count: 322

Genre: Fantasy, Adult (But would say suitable for those as young as 16/17)

Trigger Warnings: Murder, Death


Summary:

This book goes from winter mages to summer mages as Tama and Liselle return to Liselle’s homeland. After the events of book one what better way to start is to go to a place where you can start over and learn a new way of life? But that doesn’t last long as the enemy from book one is still at large. This time with backup. The more that Tama finds out the more questions that arise. The question becomes will Tama find out how to stop the enemy again before it is too late?


Thoughts:

I will say that with this second book, I enjoyed the writing a lot more than I did in the first book. I think it has something to do with the author being more comfortable writing from the male perspective than the female one that we got in book one. I think that there is a big difference between book one and book two when it comes to the writing style. Because this seemed to be a lot more going on and a lot more world-building within the pages of the book. It seemed like the author wasn’t afraid to shy away from details that were important in setting up for a potential third book in the series.

I enjoyed the characters in this book. I would recommend reading the first book in the series first so that way you kind of have an understanding of what is going on. Because it does pick up where the last book left off and I think that having that information before going into this second book will help make sure that you know what is going on within the story.

Again, the smut fell flat for me when it came to this story. I do not mind having smut in my books but I do think there is a difference between smut that is written well and smut that just makes me cringe. And this falls into the smut that honestly makes me cringe. I think that it adds nothing to the story but filler space that didn’t need to happen.


Rating:

3.75

Leave a comment