Book Reviews · Just Books · Recently Read

The Faerie Throne Review

Style: Ebook

Page Count: 387

Genre: New Adult, Fantasy

Trigger Warning: Murder, Death Of A Parent, Being Sold, Drug Use


Summary:

Raised with her brother by a brutal faerie warrior, Liserli Vaelus has grown tired of her current life and tired of the romance she has let herself enjoy in her small village. She is craving something more. But sometimes something more comes with a price that she might not be willing to pay.

So when she breaks the law to go to Shyal, the bustling faerie city that is filled with magic, Liserli has to face the consequences of her actions. She must now serve the faerie court, along with its three princes, with one who is making it his misson to torment her. Through her punishment, Liserli realizes life among the faeries isn’t quite as amazing as she made it out to be.

As dangers now grows, Liserli must learn where to place her allegiances—with her brother as he fights in the human resistance, or with the faeries who have promised her all she’s dreamed of.


Thoughts:

If you know me then you know that I tend to love Belle Manuel’s books. With the way that she tells her stories and the way that she makes them believable. It’s to the point where you are in the story with the characters because of how to live that they feel. And this one was no different. Because it had everything that I hoped for in more. It honestly lived up to the expectations that I have come to know Belle Manuel’s books to be and it is just why I am happy that I found her books and became part of her arc team (even if I read this one a few months after release day).

I enjoyed the characters when it came to this book. I think that the main character, Liserli was just trying to make the best out of a bad situation. Even if it meant causing more harm than good. Just for the sheer fact that she got to see more and understand that maybe she needs to think more before she decides to do something drastic again in the future. Some of the things that happened in this book were because of her being drastic but then again if she didn’t make the decisions that she made she wouldn’t have met some of her potential allies and even found out that her brother was in trouble.

I enjoyed the writing of this and I loved the ride that we as the reader go on with the characters. Because this book is a journey. And we are only just getting started with this series. The writing can suck you in from the beginning and just make you what to know what is going to happen next. Because this is a story (and potential series) that I can find myself rereading over and over again without ever getting bored of it. I think that the writing in this book was great and I can not wait to see what is going to happen next in the book.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of the “faeries seeing humans less than” trope but I think that has come across a lot of books that do have faeries within them. That they do tend to be written in a way to where they are more than. Especially in this book where some of the humans were killed just for being human. But I did enjoy the fact that you had some faeries that were willing to try and treat humans like they were equal. Because sometimes that is the best that a human can ask for even if they do have to be more on the cautious side.

I also wasn’t a fan of Liserlis’s brother trusting her in the decisions that she was making. Even if he trusted her, you could tell that he was having a hard time trusting the princes that she was sentenced to. Just because they were faeries and that was because he had a hard time trusting faeries after one killed their father (it was in the first chapter before the story begins). I mean I could get it but at the same time, I was just thinking that this was his sister that he was choosing to question due to who she was associating with. The brother was categorizing all of the faeries as the ones that were bad and just wanted humans for one thing and one thing only when there were a few good ones that didn’t want humans for that one thing. So here is to hoping we get more of an understanding as to why as the series goes on.


Rating:

4.75 Stars

Leave a comment