Discussions · Lets Talk Bookish

Book Covers

It is Friday and you know what that means. A brand new Let’s Talk Bookish. This was a fun topic to write about and I did have to give it some thought because of the fact I don’t think of book covers as much as I should. Maybe that is a good thing but it is kind of hard to explain due to I caring more about the synopsis (that should be on the back of the book) than the actual cover which more than likely will get changed down the road anyways.

If you don’t know what Let’s Talk Bookish is then it is where bloggers talk about a discussion of the week. It was created by Rukky over at Eternity Books and has been hosted by Aria over at Book Nook Bits since April 2022.


Prompts:

Do you ever get a book with a beautiful cover that is way better than the book? Or book covers that just don’t fit the books? Some books have lots of different covers, for different countries and special editions. Are there any books with some great covers and some terrible ones?

Do you ever get a book with a beautiful cover that is way better than the book itself?

I will be honest here… Yes. Because we are readers who judge books by the covers. I do enjoy beautiful covers and sometimes they are better than the books themselves. But at the same time, the cover is just as beautiful as the words that are inside the book. I think that Heartless by Marissa Meyer, the cover is gorgeous but the story for me wasn’t it. And I think that it is okay that the story wasn’t for me. I think that it was because I never really went through an Alice and Wonderland phase and this is an Alice retelling.


Or book covers that really just don’t fit the books?

I do think that some covers don’t fit the books. Whether they were wrong with the way that they were marketing the book or the genre of the cover fits the book it just isn’t what the book deserves. I think that we can all have that one book that the cover doesn’t seem quiet right with the context of the book on our shelves or our kindles.

For me, the cover of 13 Reasons Why, even though it has its problems, the cover of Hannah on a swing doesn’t match the context of the book. I think honestly a tape in a tape recorder with someone’s hand pressing play would have been a better cover than what looks like Hannah swinging on a swing.


Some books have lots of different covers, for different countries and special editions. Are there any books with some great covers and some terrible ones?

I do tend to like different countries covers more than I like US covers. I know that I mostly see the UK covers and some of those are amazingly beautiful. I can say the same about the special editions that come with book subscription boxes. Some of those are beautiful. Is that always the case? No. I am personally not a fan of updating covers halfway through a series which is something that I hate with the publishing companies.

The updated Twilight covers with a bigger font. I don’t know what they were thinking but the picture of the apple, the ribbon, the chess piece, hell even the movie covers were better in my opinion. I do think that the covers were fine and there was no reason to rerelease them. Even if the copies some readers have had since 2005 are yellowed you can tell that they are read.

Jesse The Reader on YouTube has talked about some different covers from different countries. Granted some of them are not that great but some are not that bad either. I will link the videos so that way if you want you can go check those out.

Full credit to Jesse The Reader for creating the videos. I have no ownership of the wonderful content that Jesse puts out on YouTube.


There is today’s post. What do you think about book covers? I would love to know. And if you want to use the questions for this topic feel free to. Because I would love to know your thoughts on this topic.

Leave a comment