Discussions · Lets Talk Bookish

Are TBRS Necessary To Be A Reader?

It is Friday and you know what that means! A brand new Let’s Talk Bookish post coming your way. And since September has 5 Fridays this month, this week is a freebie week. Which only happens in a month that has 5 Fridays. So today I am going to be talking about whether or not you need to have a TBR to be considered a reader. And this topic was brought to you by Be Frisky in 2019.

Let’s Talk Bookish was started by Rukky over at Eternity Books before being hosted by Aria over at Book Nook Bits in April of 2022. This is where bloggers talk about a topic of the week. This week is freebie week which is explained in the paragraph above.


Questions:

Do you have a TBR and how many books are on it? Do you plan on actually pushing through and reading all the books on there? Do you think TBRs are necessary?

Do you have a TBR and how many books are on it?

Yes, I do have a TBR and I will say that I don’t know how many books are on it but Goodreads says that it is roughly 300. But when I do a monthly TBR, I usually have 4 to 5 books on my TBR because I know that I can get through 4 to 5 books a month. And yes, I don’t always stick to the said TBR, but I do like having a sense of direction of what it is that I am in the mood for a certain month.

In September, there were two books that I was not planning on reading this month but ended up reading because the author booked with me through my Fiverr services. And I will talk about them when I do my September wrap-up.


Do you plan on actually pushing through and reading all the books on there?

I do want to get through all the reads that I have on my TBR. But I am not going to force myself to read the books if it is something that I am not in the mood for at that moment. Do I read backlisted books that are on my TBR? Sure. It is one of my favorite things to do is read backlist books. But I am not going to read a backlist mystery if I am not in the mood for a backlist mystery.

The same can be said with newer releases. Because there are some newer releases and future releases that I have got my eye on that I haven’t read yet. Mainly because I am not in the mood for them at this moment. I think the next big release that I am looking forward to is a non-fiction. Which is rare because I usually don’t read non-fiction. But when it comes to my favorite wrestlers I will want that book.


Do you think TBR’s are necessary?

As someone who just got back into reading within the last few years, I don’t think a TBR is necessary to be a reader. Yes, almost everyone talks about what they want to read in a month or a season. But if you are someone who is just getting back into it, it is not a necessity. Because you should be focusing on books that you love and books that you know that you are going to enjoy.

Even if you do something within the book community (e.g. BookTok, BookTube, Book Blog) you don’t have to post a TBR to become a reader. Each space has its unique ways to get attention on you and your account that doesn’t require you to post a TBR.


There is this week Let’s Talk Bookish. Do you think a TBR is necessary to become a reader? I would love to know! Whether in the comments or on your blogs!

Leave a comment