Blogtober · Book Reviews · Recently Read

Planes, Trains And All The Feels

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Adult, Fiction

Page Count: 337

Style: Physical (paperback)

Trigger Warnings: Mention of alcoholism. Emotional Abuse, Controlling


Summary:

As the black sheep of the family, choreographer Cassidy Bliss vowed she’d do anything to get home in time to help with her sister’s wedding and avoid family disappointment… again. She just never expected “anything” would involve sharing the last rental car with the jerk who cut her off in line at the airport this morning. But horrible times call for here-goes-nothing measures.

Driving across the country with Luke “life can be solved with a spreadsheet” Carlisle must be a penance for some crime she committed. Because the second he opens his mouth, it’s all she can do to not maim him with her carry-on. But somewhere between his surprisingly thoughtful snack sharing and his uncanny ability to see straight to the core of her, her feelings go unchecked.

Suddenly, their crackling chemistry is just one more thing they have to navigate―and it couldn’t come at a worse time. But after a lifetime of letting the expectations and needs of others drive her life, Cassidy must decide if she’s ready to take the wheel once and for all


Thoughts:

I had such a fun time with this book. With this book, I was reminded why I love Livy Hart’s books so much. This was wonderful and I found myself laughing pretty much the whole way through it. I think that Livy Hart hit it out of the park with this book. I loved the relationship that formed between the two main characters Luke and Cassidy. Because even though they started on the wrong foot, you couldn’t help finding yourself rooting for them to get together by the end.

I wasn’t the biggest fan of either mom in this book. Because you have Cassidy’s mom who thinks that Cassidy can’t do anything right and is like the biggest disappointment known to fucking man. But I loved it when Cassidy told her mom off. It was almost like the reader was waiting for it and when it finally happened the reader couldn’t be happier.

Then you have Luke’s mom, who can’t seem to stay sober long enough to take care of herself. And because Luke’s mom also has diabetes on top of her alcoholic problems, it causes Luke to feel like he needs to miss out on a lot of his niece’s life to make sure that everyone has what they need to survive. Even if it means him sacrificing time away from them when that shouldn’t be the case.

I loved the fact that Luke realized that it was Cassidy that he wanted after pushing her away. Because you don’t spend the majority of the book together just to push the person who has been there for you. I mean sometimes the characters made questionable decisions but that is what I liked about this book. And I was happy when Luke realized who it was that he wanted.

I will say that this is one of those books that I wanted to reread as soon as I finished it because I enjoyed it that much. From page one to the end. There was something about this book that I just loved. I do think that this is my favorite Livy Hart book that I have read.


Rating:

4.5 stars

Leave a comment