Book Reviews · Recently Read

The Lost Letters Of Evelyn Wright Review

Style: Ebook

Genre: Romance, Adult, Contemporary, Womens Fiction

Page Count: 357

Trigger Warnings: Divorce, Cheating, Death Of Parent


Summary:

Starting over can be hard to do. But that is something that Beth has to do as she moves out of her beloved marital home and into an unloved, unkempt cottage. Faced with possible month’s worth of DIY and dust ahead of her, not only is Beth unimpressed but so are her two kids that she has to share a cousty with her now ex-husband. So when Beth finds a box full of letters in her children’s bedroom, things start to look up for her.

Intrigued as to why the letters that are dated back decades have been kept safe after all these years, Beth cant help but read them. The wisdom and kindness of a random woman named Evelyn falls off the pages and Beth starts to feel like she has a friend in the woman she has never met before.

But here is the thing. Good advice doesn’t age, and as soon as life starts to look somewhat brighter, Beth starts to wonder if she can track down the mysterious woman named Evelyn and thank her for all of her help. But as soon as Beth starts to uncover more about Evelyn’s story, it becomes clear that not everything is what it is. And now, Beth is determined to bring peace to Evelyn as Evelyn has brought peace to her.


Thoughts:

I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. I think that the writing is strong with this one, and it makes you either love or hate the characters because of how they are written. I am all for the character development in this book and think that Beth’s journey from beginning to end is one of my favorite things about this book because seeing where she is at the beginning of the story and where she is by the end, is almost like they are two different people.

I enjoyed the writing of this one because it brought me in even when I thought that Beth was always trying to start a fight with her ex-husband. I think that this is one of those books where you can enjoy the writing and enjoy the journey without really enjoying the main character all that much. I enjoyed the writing of the characters and think that the relationships that were formed as some of the best things about this book. You can see the fact that Beth is trying to make the best of the opportunity and I think that moving away could have given her the peace that she needed. Even meeting some of the other characters in the town that Beth moves to. You can tell that she is trying and maybe she can make peace with her ex-husband when she makes peace with herself.

I wasn’t a big fan of the fact that Charlie and Beth didn’t want to mention the theory that they had when it was around Lois and her family. Even though it involved the said daughter. I think that they could have been more upfront with Catherine about what it was that they were thinking and maybe they could have come to some concerns with everything. But I understand that they wanted to see if it could result in anything before mentioning it.

While we are on the subject of Catherine, I wasn’t the biggest fan of her keeping something from someone who she thought was a friend because it could have been a worst-case scenario. But honestly, I don’t think that Catherine should have pretty much ghosted Beth the way that she did making Beth wonder if she was the one who did something wrong when in reality she didn’t. I am not the biggest fan of the miscommunication trope whether it is between lovers, friends, family, etc.


Rating:

3.25

Leave a comment