Discussions · Lets Talk Bookish

Are Tropes Spoilers?

It is Friday and you know what that means. A brand new Let’s Talk Bookish. Today we are talking about whether or not tropes count as spoilers. I did enjoy this topic and think that was fun to discuss on the blog and I am excited to share my thoughts with you guys on this today.

If you don’t know what Let’s Talk Bookish is, it is where bloggers like myself discuss a topic of the week whatever that might be. It was created by Rukky over at Eternity Books and has been hosted by Aria over at Book Nook Bits since April 2022. So let’s get into whether or not tropes are spoilers.


Prompts:

A lot of the time, books will be promoted on social media books with their tropes. For example, a book might be advertised as being enemies to lovers, having found family, or starring a 'chosen one'. Can those topes be spoilers, giving away parts of the plot? What do you think about marketing books based on tropes?

Can those tropes be spoilers, giving away parts of the plot?

I don’t think so. I don’t think it’s a spoiler to know if a book has dragons in it. Because if a book has dragons and you’re looking for a book with dragons, then you are more than likely to read the book because it has dragons. If you are looking for a happily ever after then I dont think it a spoiler to know if the ending is one. Because most romances have that happily ever after.

I do think that you are more willing to pick up a book that is Enemies to Lovers, having a Found Family, or starring a “Chosen One” if you know that those are the types of tropes that you enjoy reading about. Why would you pick up a book that has to do with blackmail when you are not a fan of blackmail as a trope?

I think like the cover and the synopsis, knowing what the tropes are can help decide whether or not you are going to like a book. Because if you know Planes, Trains and All The Feels is an enemy to lovers and has one bed you know if you’re going to like it or not based on that alone. So I don’t think that it is giving away part of the plot instead I think that it’s finding the readers that are known to enjoy enemies to lovers along with one bed. Or the readers who want to try an enemies to lovers or a one bed.


What do you think about marketing books based on tropes?

I think that it is a good marketing way. If a book looks interesting, then knowing if it enemies to lovers, a magical creature, high steaks, happily ever after, a twist ending, a missing child/spouse, etc, then it might help readers decide if they want to read it or not because it has their favorite trope in it.

Like Between The Blue, it has forced proximity, enemies to lovers, one bed, workplace romance, No strings attached, I hate everyone but you, and some angst. Those are the tropes that can help a romance reader to know if they would want to read this book. If this sounds like something that you want to read then feel free to.

As a reader, I enjoy knowing what the tropes are in a book that I am interested in. I think knowing what the tropes are going into will help me decide whether or not it is going to be a good fit for me based on what my reading tastes are. I think that marketing books with their tropes are a good way for books to get into the hands that are going to rate it 4 and 5 stars. Because I think if I had known the tropes of The Guest List before going in, it might have saved me the time and energy of reading a book that I didn’t see the hype in.


There is today’s post. What do you think about tropes? Do you think that they are spoilers? If you want to talk about this on your blog, feel free to use the questions above as a key. I would love to know your thoughts about whether or not you think that tropes are spoilers.

Leave a comment