Book Reviews · Recently Read

A Vow So Bold And Deadly Book Review

Page Count: 405

Genre: Young Adult, Retelling, Fantasy, Fiction, Romance

Style: Physical (Hardback)

Trigger Warning: Death (Animal & Murder), Blood, Gore, PTSD, Stabbing, Torture, Violence, War Themes, Mention Of Suicide

At this point, I don’t know how I can keep things spoiler-free. I will try and keep this as spoiler-free as I can for this particular book but I will mention things that happened in the first two books.

Review:

60 days. That’s all. 60 days till an all-out war between Emberfall and Syhl Shallow. Rhen is struggling because he can’t believe that this would lead to this. While Lia Mara is still having a hard time adjusting to being queen. (Spoiler Alert! Lia Mara kills Karis Luren towards the end of book 2 and that’s how she becomes queen). Grey is still trying to adjust to life in Syhl Shallow while Harper is seemingly at odds with Rhen.

It seems like the only person who isn’t struggling is Lilith who has been tormenting Rhen for YEARS. Just this time she take it to a whole new low after Rhen rejected her for the last time. Lilith just wants to rule Emberfall and wants bloodshed while she’s at it. While it seems like that is not what the others want.

Lia Mara wants to rule in peace and is still trying to figure out how to do that especially when she is still being overlooked by the person who was supposed to be queen. Her sister. Lia Mara wants to do things her way but it is hard when people respect your sister more than you and won’t let you rule the way you want to rule.

Rhen isn’t one hundred percent sure that he even wants to go to war. He’d be going to war against his brother Grey who is the rightful heir of Emberfall. Harper is the one that ends up talking him into finding a way to yield to Grey.

There is one thing that they both have in common. Make sure that Lilith is gone once and for all. They tried once and they failed. So if they don’t try now, they don’t know when they will get another chance to get rid of Lilith. Especially with the weapon that was found, that can destroy magesmiths. But there is one thing that they weren’t counting on. The return of the monster.

After Lilith is killed once and for all, things changed. Lia Mara is pregnant with Grey’s child. While Rhen is trying to figure out what to do next considering that he is no longer first in line to the throne. But with Harper by Rhen’s side, that shouldn’t be a problem.


Thoughts:

Okay. After the 2nd book, I was wary of picking up this book. I wasn’t the biggest fan of what the second book was. But I think that there were some improvements between some of the characters.

Grey and Lia Mara’s romantic relationship in this book wasn’t as forced as it felt in book 2. For some reason, I just couldn’t get behind it. They did seem to grow on me the more that I saw them in Syhl Shallow. I may not love this pair but I did enjoy them more in this book than the last book.

I wasn’t a big fan of the whole “let’s revert to book one Rhen and Harper”. Because to me, when they were at odds with the other that’s all I could think about was how I didn’t love them in book one because they just weren’t willing to communicate with the other. But by the end, I was loving them again.

Some moments made me not like the characters. But they were more of the side characters trying to tell the main characters their opinions when some of them (looking at you Lia Mara) are already having a hard enough time ruling a country as a flipping teenager without some 45-year-old man trying to give their 2 cents of how the country should be run.


Rating:

4.5 Stars